Another Note Left Inside a Secondhand Book

This is going to seem shallow. While it’s incumbent on book bloggers to write (or at least try to write) eloquent reviews on books and commentaries on the book industry, here’s a rather detailed note that I found in a secondhand book today. The redacts are intended to create enough mystery to offset any shallowness.

Click to enlarge.

Click to enlarge.

This entry was posted in Secondhand Bookshops and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Another Note Left Inside a Secondhand Book

  1. Sarah says:

    I never got into Dungeons and Dragons, being allergic to the kind of fiction or gaming that might involve pointy felt forest footwear or a lute, but I’d be a hypocrite if I mocked such intricate jottings. I might not keep lists of shields and potions, but my books are full of plans and calculations for my fantasy football team, and while that might be utterly sad, at least it’s a lute-free zone, and that surely has to count for something. 🙂

    Like

    • Jeff says:

      Do you think it’s the contents of your books or the use of an analog device that’s sad? I imagine that D&D etc. has little life in books nowadays. The scrap was from a type of book that was popular in the early 1980s. There are detailed websites put together by devotees. But nobody reveres the physical manifestations. The books are ten-a-penny on ABE.
      Good luck with your lute-free team though! [pictures the teams that do play football with lutes!]

      Like

  2. Lucy says:

    I love these notes. I love finding stuff in library books. I asked the lady that runs my local second-hand book shop what she does with them, and she said she keeps them in books when she sells them on, as they have become part of the book. She has found all kinds of cool plane tickets and photos. I think it’s very nice of her to keep them in, as if I were her, I’d nick the lot of ’em.

    Like

    • Jeff says:

      Aye! A volunteer colleague of mine put a large, folded pencil drawing back into a book the other day. I usually leave them in too when they’re going out for sale. The one scanned here was from a book destined for the big bookshop in the sky – not worth the shelf-space, alas. Still, you’ve got me thinking that it might be a wheeze to add notes that weren’t originally there …

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ste J says:

    I think it could actually be a code, possibly for some sort of bank robbery or something, I sense some sort of comedy Christmas TV special where you get chased by the Mafia with hilarious results.

    Like

    • Jeff says:

      Very 1970s. Is Dusty Bin involved? Someone I know on FB asked if it’s a draft for a Nazi bunker. Imagine it was both – ‘It’s a Colditz, Colditz Xmas’.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment ...

