Break

I’m off on (and ‘off on’ is an entirely appropriate oxymoron) a break from blogging. It’s true that new work commitments have tied me up. But the inexplicable inability of computers to ever get around finally to doing something I want rather than give endless alibis leaves me wondering why I shouldn’t just get on with my life instead? I mean. You can do things in life. Alternatively, you can switch a computer on and work around something technical that’s got nothing to do with you for the rest of the day.

I still read. It just seems too much to ask to be able to write some thoughts down and then share them on anything more advanced than pencil and paper.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Break

  1. Jonathan says:

    I’ve been having trouble lately with lack of time, due to work etc. and have barely had time to read, let alone blog as well. If you’ve been experiencing something similar then it may well be a good idea to take a break – and just read for pleasure…now there’s a thought!

    Like

    • Jeff says:

      All I’ve had time and energy for is fitting in reading that most appeals to me. There is a discipline to this also, which is satisfying. My capacity for my eyes to cope with text has increased as I’ve gotten used to being in front of a screen all day. These shorter Winter days also mean that staring out of the bus window while listening to podcasts has less appeal when it’s dark. Commuting is a great opportunity to get in some continuity to a book.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jonathan says:

        A large portion of what I read during the week I read on the bus to work. It can feel like a calm oasis in the day but it does limit my book choices somewhat. Hope you get some time over the weekend to relax and maybe fit in some reading.

        Like

        • Jeff says:

          Rain this weekend! I’m most keen to fit in a blog binge so I can catch up with what others have been up to. I rarely come into contact with anyone who reads anything more demanding than popular fiction, so it’s like living a double life in which you go off to some secret club down an alleyway.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, it’s a real problem – blogging’s quite hard work and if you’ve got a job already…there’s no point in doing more things you don’t enjoy. Hope you’ve got a big stack of books to work through. All the best.

    Like

    • Jeff says:

      Always got a stack of books to work through! The hardest part is facing another screen after already facing one all day. I long to go for walks and do practical things. I’m getting a bit more done these days!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ste J says:

    A break is always good, it’s especially tough when attempting to appear interested in a new job. I hope you come back soon though as you are always insightful. thought provoking and a nifty picker of books.

    Like

    • Jeff says:

      Thanks Steve. I just bought another book on the Black Death yesterday. I went to Bookcase in Carlisle, where I saw the Ziegler book you reviewed some time back in a pile awaiting shelving. Turns out they have many editions of what must be a standard text. So I got a different book on the subject while it’s there.
      I’m getting back to my own computer a bit now that I’ve adjusted to spending all day in front of one. It takes a while for the old eyes to toughen up to the new task. Didn’t realise how little time screen-time there was in my life. I’m suddenly thrust into a world in which tools continually fail. In no other walk of life would we tolerate tools that don’t work properly. Strange world.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sarah says:

    Blogging is so time consuming – especially book blogging! Throw in work commitments and it’s easy to see something that started as a pleasure turning into a bind. I hope all that unfettered reading leaves you feeling recharged. You will be missed. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jeff says:

      Aye, and I’ve been seduced into going out a bit after a fallow period for money. I shall have a go this weekend at reporting on something I’ve read recently.

      Like

Leave a comment ...

